NSW Route Numbering:
Decomissioned Routes

The first routes in NSW were the National Routes, the first of which was signposted in 1954. Following this there have been several systems of route marking introduced, namely; Ring Roads in 1964, State Routes in 1973, Freeway Routes in 1974, and Metroads in 1992. With all these changes, many routes became severed, obsolete or merely replaced when a change in route numbering happened.

Multiple decomissionings happened around the time of the Metroads (1992/3) and during the late 1990's as the RTA seemed to adopt a policy to rationalise routes in Sydney. Also, during June 2004 a number of Sydney state routes were decomissioned in preparation for the seemingly imminent conversion to alpha-numeric route numbering.

For organisational purposes, route which have not had their full length decomissoned or replaced are not included in this page. For information on the decomissioned sections of routes not included in this page, see under the appropriate route numbering heirarchy page.

Decommissioned routes in this list are divided into the following categories:

National Routes

Princes Highway
Waterfall - Wollongong - Dapto
Sturt Highway
Tarcutta to Adelaide
Barton Highway
Canberra to Yass
Hume Highway
Sydney to Melbourne
Goulburn Valley, Newell & Leichhardt Highways
Seymour - Dubbo - Miles - Central QLD
Trunk Road No. 67
Balranald to Swan Hill

State Routes

Inner Ring Route
Pyrmont - Redfern - Darlinghurst
Northern Beaches
Balgowlah - Manly - Brookvale

Northern Beaches
Artarmon - Brookvale - Palm Beach

Kingsford to Sydenham
Gardeners Road
Ryde to Kellyville
Blaxland Road, Beecroft Road, Castle Hill Road, Showground Road
Blakehurst to Mona Vale
King Georges Road, Roberts Road, Centenary Drive, Homebush Bay Drive, Lane Cove Road, Mona Vale Road
Baulkham Hills to Somersby
Old Northern Road, Wisemans Ferry Road
Prospect to Oakhurst
Prospect Highway, Blacktown Road, Richmond Road
Carlingford to Heathcote
Marsden Road, Silverwater Road, Rookwood Road, Stacey Street, Alfords Point Road, Heathcote Road
Cabramatta to Wallacia
Cabramatta Road, Elizabeth Drive, Park Road
Hornsby to Arncliffe
Pennant Hills Road, Woodville Road, Henry Lawson Drive, Forest Road
Richmond to Heathcote
Richmond Road, Rooty Hill Road, Wallgrove Road, Elizabeth Drive, Heathcote Road
Taylor Square to Sutherland
Southern Cross Drive, The Grand Parade, Taren Point Road, Kingsway
McGraths Hill to Maroota
Pitt Town Road, Cattai Road, Wisemans Ferry Road
Sydney CBD to Kogarah
Southern Arterial, Princes Highway
The Royal National Park
Farnell Avenue, Sir Betram Stevens Drive, Lady Wakehurst Drive, Lawrence Hargrave Drive
Sydney CBD to La Perouse
Anzac Parade, Bunnerong Road
Richmond to Wallacia
Castlereagh Road, Mulgoa Road
Sydney CBD to Watsons Bay
New South Head Road
Hornsby to Liverpool
Cumberland Highway


No Metroad routes have been decommissioned yet.

Ring Roads

Freeway Routes

Last updated 26 January 2011
© Ozroads 2004-2011.